Please forgive me...I'm a bit "dulled" by hops....

Bill

TVWBB Super Fan
..but I have a question that I haven't found an answer to from searches and research. Some may regard it as a stupid question(s) but as I'm not a Weber expert(my only weber experience is w/my 18.5 WSM I got a few weeks ago and so far love), and am curious, feel compelled to ask. Regarding all of the weber(charcoal grills) models(excluding size and color), what is the difference for the average/novice owner..ie-what differentiates one from the other and why should I spend more. example given size is the same(22.5 standard for kettle) and it's not a rare color variation, for someone going from a gas grill to a weber kettle, what is the difference between a silver, gold, performer..etc and why should should I get one over another?

Last edited:
Silver to gold...
One Touch Gold (OTG) has a basket underneath that when you slide the vent handle back an forth the ash falls into the basket. The silver just has a catch pan. The benefit of the OTG is if the wind blows the ash stays contained. Also just remove the basket and dump it.

I'm not familiar with the performer, maybe someone else can comment.

If the powers to be ever said to me " You must eliminate all your Weber cookers except one " the Performer would be my choice to keep. The gas assist, ash catcher, table, ability to move around and I can grill and or smoke makes the Performer, For me and my family the easiest and best cooker for our needs. Take a look at the Performer Bill, I think you'll like it.

The Performer would be the grill to get, but at $400+ (at least up here) a more modest budget would allow the next best thing - the 22.5 OTG. As far as colour.....

What they said. I personally would always pay a few bucks more for the OTG because of the better ash catcher. If you have the cash the performer is my grill of choice, all 7 others would go before my performer :)