Barbacoa de cabeza

Jim Lampe

TVWBB 1-Star Olympian
Has anyone tried making this?
I found this thread from 2003, butt it took me nowhere.

Last week Friday, I was at my Harry Hansen's Meat Service and two or three south-of-the-border Americans were walking out with a couple of cow heads.
Well, after talking with a few co-workers that have tasted Barbacoa de cabeza, and with my love of Mexican cuisine, i feel a very strong urge to make Barbacoa de cabeza.
H3llb3lls, at 10 bucks a head, Why Knot??!!

So, anyone tried making this using the WSM?
I'm gonna do it no matter what!

Thanks in advance:wsm:

I have no experience using the whole head, just the cheek meat (I think it was labeled as conchita de res). I will say though that the cheek meat made some very tasty barbacoa tacos.

I wonder if you could put some coals in the fire ring, wrap the head and put it on them, then simulate burying it by putting more coals on top of and around the head, and inverting the water bowl over those coals?

Jim Jim Jim
You must stop reading Geir's posts (moose hearts, python, etc, etc)
If it looks like meat, fine, if it looks back at me, not so fine.

cow-01.gif

Ethan, Thank you! I have been googling this butt have not come across this link yet...
I will continue later after a "normal" pork chop dinner BOB! ;)

I told you Bob, i like Geirs imagination with different cooks and when it comes to old Mexican recipes, I'm Game!
anyway, i gotta go tend my grill right now, later.
Again, Thanks Ethan!

Jim Jim Jim
You must stop reading Geir's posts (moose hearts, python, etc, etc)
If it looks like meat, fine, if it looks back at me, not so fine.

cow-01.gif

Bob hit the nail on the head with this one! I am game for almost anything, but not if it looks back at me. Thanks Ethan for posting that link. It also convinced me that I will not being doing this one, but am looking forward to Mr. L's cook..;)