Forschner knives

Cory Musser

TVWBB Fan
I've been looking to purchase some knives and I see plenty of people here like the Forschners. I was wondering if the Fibrox knives are all full tang? Also would you suggest the forged line over the stamped(Fibrox) or are they just as good? Birthday is coming up and I'm looking for some good ideas! Thanks.

Good morning Cory,
Don't waste your money on any other brand but Forschner! I'm a meat cutter by profession and would never use any other type! Their handles are great, you can get either a straight or a curved blade, and they hold an edge great. I recommend a 6-inch boning knife, an 8-inch, and a 10-inch--if you can afford to! A 10-inch steel would be a great addition as well. Hope this helps.
Todd

Thanks Todd. I'm really leaning toward the Forschners. They seem to have really good prices and a great following. So the Fibrox handled ones are the way to go?

Cory, don't think twice about getting the stamped fibrox-handled Forschners. They continually rank in the top three favorites of Cooks Illustrated right up there with the "big guys" of other more pricey European origin, as well as being favored by professionals like Todd above. I have probably 8 or 10 different stamped Forschners with which I am very well pleased. That being said, I DID splurge a little and get a forged Forschner santoku some time back, though, that I really REALLY like.
5661.jpg

And their little stamped stamped 3.25-inch paring knife is a great little workhorse for the paltry sum of about $4. I agree with Todd - go ahead and put the steel on your wishlist while you're at it.

Keri C, still smokin' on Tulsa Time

good prices and free shipping from "professional cutlery direct". Don't have their url right now but do a google search. check them out.

I have 2 of them and love them. I got the 12" Cimetar and the 14" beef slicer both with Fibrox handles and the Granton Edge.
icon_smile.gif