Dave Moser Grill Restoration Rookie

Dave Moser

My name is Dave and I am an Army Officer living at Fort Belvoir, Virginia. I got into Weber restoration about 6 months ago and have really enjoyed it. My two teenage boys help me and we’ve so far restored and sold 10 gas grills. My favorites are the older model E or S 300 series but we’ve also restored some Silver B and spirit models. Really enjoy the hobby and it’s great to have a forum to learn best practices.

Welcome Dave and thanks for your service.

The Weber grills are good candidates for rebuilding and restoration. Parts are available and interchangeable between models in most cases.

This site has lots of information and help. Weber has great customer service.

This is the 10th restoration. I don’t clean the cook box nearly as well as some I’ve seen on the forum. I just picked up my first weber 1000 red head that I’m thinking I want to go that extra mile on. I was reading some old threads from Bruce, and it sounds like that’s either a wire wheel effort or sand blasting. I don’t know much about sand blasting, so will probably give the wire wheel a try. If I do that, is it beat to use brass or is it ok to use the steel braid?

Attachments

• IMG_0264.jpeg
    IMG_0264.jpeg
    180.8 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_0267.jpeg
    IMG_0267.jpeg
    164.9 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0265.jpeg
    IMG_0265.jpeg
    183 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0273.jpeg
    IMG_0273.jpeg
    245.7 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0263.jpeg
    IMG_0263.jpeg
    137.6 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_0256.jpeg
    IMG_0256.jpeg
    219.1 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_0251.jpeg
    IMG_0251.jpeg
    129.4 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_0271.jpeg
    IMG_0271.jpeg
    240.1 KB · Views: 16
Dave, I wouldn't use the braided wire wheels or cups on anything. They are too aggressive. I have some steel wire cups that go on my angle grinder that work pretty well on the cookbox inside and out.

The san blasted boxes certainly look nice.

There are 2 ends of the firebox spectrum - dry or greasy.