Brisket Point Chili "Colorado"

Obviously onions come in a huge range of sizes, when a recipe calls for "1 onion" does that mean basically 1 Cup??? Is there a standard translation??

When a recipe calls for 1 onion it means 1 medium onion unless otherwise specified. I dislike volume amounts for vegs unless accuracy is essential; it usually isn't. Had I written '3 cups sliced onions' would many readers know how many onions to start with? Probably not. For most, I think (certainly for me), knowing the quantity rather than the volume is easier and more to the point and eliminates the mental conversion step one needs to make every time volume measurements are confronted. 1 med onion ? .75 c.

Thanks Kevin...I thought I had read somewhere that there was a semi-standard conversion. I usually just buy the big onions so the volume amount is useful to know for me (plus I'm a scientist so I want to know EXACTLY how much
icon_smile.gif
)

WOW, all I can say is WOW....the depth of flavor is fantastic. I followed Kevin's suggestions, fresh chilies from my small garden, roasted 2 big jims, used 2 jalapenos (these are much hotter than normally at the stores), and 3 red serranos, 1 T of ancho powder, then followed the recipe with the exception of chicken stock as the liquid....meat was leftover smoked chuck....fantastic - a definate keeper.

Am going to try this one again the weekend. Will probably break it into 2 batches, because I want to see what it is like without the pineapple. More curious than anything, but I'll try it each way.

I Made this last night, very nice, the point does melt in your mouth and my wife really enjoyed the pineapple addition. Perfect chili for a chilly October night.
Thumbs up Kevin.
Tim