Brisket Internal Temp

Richard Laiche

Hello all. I am a confused beginner BBQ cook. I scoured these posts trying to get the best advice for the perfect internal temperature for slicing a brisket. I have read everything from as low as 180 degrees all the way up to 205 degrees. Also, are these the temps at which the brisket is being pulled from the smoker or the temps at which the actual slicing is occurring? It seems that most of them are when the brisket is being pulled from the smoker and them rested for an hour or two. Should I monitor the internal temp of the brisket as it is resting and if so, at what temp should I actually slice it? Thanks.

From my experience I would get the brisket in the cooker to 195-201. Pull it wrap it in double foil, then a towel, and then stick all that in a cooler to rest for a few hours. As long as the temp stays above 150 you are good to go. If it dips below 150 before you start cutting you need to reheat it back above 165 or so.

Use a probe to test for doneness, most use temp as a guide to start testing for doneness. A brisket is done when a probe can be inserted without much resistence, like warm butter some say. It will come with experience ... but a brisket can be done anywhere in the 195 to 205 range. When you hit the doneness by probe feel, let the brisket vent uncovered for 15 minutes or so to stop the cooking process before you wrap for the hold.

Agree whole-heartedly with Mike & Mark above. I use temp as a guide to begin probing. 202 has seemed to kinda be my sweet spot. The window between probe tender and over-cooked is far smaller for brisket. It is not nearly as forgiving as pork butt. I was amazed at how easy the probe went in during my first brisket cook when it was done. Like buttah.