Adding spices to the cure- a waste of taste?

Geir Widar

TVWBB Wizard
I’m about to start yet another bacon cure, and I’ve finally found the time to make this thread. I’ve been thinking about this for a long time.

I’ve been making salted cured pork belly for many years, and after getting the WSM, and joining the forum, I’ve tried to add spices to the mix, and started cold and hot smoking as well.
I have tried garlic, basil, cumin, and a few other dried plants, mainly borrowed from the Mediterranean kitchen. I’ve also used brown sugar as well as pure maple sugar.
Now, I have a strong feeling that I end up with a product that tastes as, well, bacon.

That’s great, and my guests and relatives think the taste is great, it’s far better than anything you can buy in the store.
As far as I can see, it is not a fantastic achievement, as long as most of the store bought bacon is unsmoked, the smoke taste is artificial.

Stepping down from my soapbox, do you have the same thoughts? Or can you clearly tell a distinct taste of basil and maple sugar in the final product if you add the two ingredients?

I would love to answer “yes”, but I’m afraid that would be a lie. My bacon does not simply “respond” to added spices the way I would like. I usually cure my bacon four to seven days.

The most important part is that it is delicious. Any thoughts?

These spices become more of a sort of feature, such as telling people “I’ve cured the belly with different herbs and pure maple sugar” Sounds great, but if no one can taste a difference, it becomes a verbal show- off, and nothing else.
Since there is no taste from the herbs, I might as well try let’s say banana, coconut and macadamia nut bacon. :D

I've never been able to taste any flavors added to the cure, only when added (pressed or rubbed in) before smoking.
I was very pleased with my cinnamon and pepper bacon.
But then again, I don't have the most refined of taste buds.