I'm such a nerd...can't wait to get started

RMcCormick

TVWBB Member
*UPATE, the grill rehab is complete. I''m having some issues with photo uploads. Currently working on the pics and hope to have them up soon.

My day started at this thread over hear http://tvwbb.com/showthread.php?65541-Would-You-Pay-350-for-this-Grill/page3

Thought I would follow it up here since today is my first day posting.

Hey ya'll. I always knew I wanted a weber, but I always assumed when I got it it would be some shinny new expensive stainless steel version.

Little did I know that my first Weber, which I got about a month ago, would be an Original Kettle Premium. It all started when my 11 year old stainless Costco gas grill finally got tossed to the curb a couple months ago. Although I have been grilling for 20 years I really didn't know that much about new grills, or grilling in general. I thought I did, but I did not.

So, as I always do I began the scouring of the world wide web for information. I was really interested in the Kamado style grills, but didn't want to spend $1000+. Looked at the Pit Boss Kamado at Costco, but decided it just had to many compromises, even for $599. Just like Weber's there is a reason the good ones are expensive.

I also looked at the Trager Pellet grills, but again decided that it was just not the best option if it was going to be my only grill. I think they are cool, but there are things they just can't do.

After a little more reading on Amazingribs.com I decided to go old school and get a Weber Kettle. The are relatively inexpensive, effective, and cheap to operate. This is my first charcoal grill, and I think only the 3rd grill I have ever had.