Lid hardware and burner retention - full Genesis 1000 restoration project

Phil Graham

Greetings TVWBB people,

Inspired in large part by photo threads I saw on this forum, I am nearing the end of a full restoration of a Weber Genesis 1000 series LP grill. I'm a materials engineer by background, so I've been working to reduce the galvanic corrosion mistakes made in the original grill design. I have a couple of hardware related questions below.

Completed to Date:
  1. Purchased old Genesis 1000 with stainless internals ($65)
  2. Purchased older Spirt 300 series for parts ($25)
  3. Complete teardown, all components
  4. Drilled out 2x drip pan screws
  5. Drilled out 2x burner retainer screws
  6. Frame sanded -> cleaned -> prepped -> repainted
  7. Media blasted grill castings and stainless internal pieces
  8. Partially re-assemble grill frame

Questions:
1. I need to replace the stud and nuts that retain the end castings to the porcelain lid. The only official-looking hardware kit part I can find is the following: (http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com/search/part/552800//). Since most of the other hardware I've been able to obtain from McMaster or Fastenal, I'm wondering if there is another source for these pins, which look like an overgrown clinch stud. $45 for this hardware, which didn't last very well the first time, seems pricey.

2. I have 4x holes in the main casting I had to drill out. Two are the infamous burner retaining screws, and two were on one side of the drip pan retaining rail. I planned on using stainless threaded inserts (heli-coil) in each of these holes, but I am wondering if anyone has other suggestions, especially for the burner mounts.

3. What size and threading are the keps nuts (K-lock) nuts that retain the main grill handle to the two lid castings?

I'll make sure to post some pictures of the finished result. My media blasting house did a very nice job, the castings and stainless look like new.

Thanks in advance,

Last edited: