Overnight temp dropped

G

Hello All,

Newbie here from VA attempted overnight pork butt cook uisng Minion method. I woke up this morning @ 8:00 with a kettle top temp of 150. I had all my vents about half way open (or a little less). I added more coals and wood and opened up the top vent. I should be getting more heat soon!

My problem is this: I'm having guests over at 4:00 for my sons 1st birthday and I'm afraid these 2 10 pound butts aren't going to be ready. They have an internal temp of 140. Does anyone have any suggestions? Maybe I should be wrapping these in foil soon?

Regards,
Robb

Sorry for the lack of info. I'm a little flustered at this point. I put them on about 11:30 last night. The temp was stable at 260 before leaving it for the night. I have the butts on the bottom grill but plan on moving them to the top one shortly. I still have plenty of water in the pan so I'm just leaving that alone. I'm uisng maple wood chunks. I'm targeting a temp of 190 before pulling them off. I do have a gas grill and a weber 1 touch charcoal to finish them off if needed. I would like to serve them aound 5:00 pm tonight or so. I realize now that I probably didn't leave myself enough time.

Lets work backwards. What time do you want to serve? 1 hour to pull. 1 to 2 hours to rest.
To pull your target should be 190 to 195 min.
I have not foiled and finnished in the oven before but to minimize stress this cook may need to go that route. Heavy duty foil and an oven temp of 325 would probably do it.

My guess is that you have enough smoke flavor and the goal is to get it cooked so you can relax... Better to finnish early than stress out on being late.

Do the oven not the grill-no temp worries that way.

You will have some liquid gold in that foil after the cook and rest. Add a little to your sauce.