weekend Cook

Ryan Barrett

I am going to smoke a brisket, pork butt, and whole chicken this weekend. Is it going to be ok to put the chicken on the top rack with the pork and the brisket on the bottom rack or do I need to find another place to cook the chicken. I have never done a whole chicken before. Any sugestions?

Thanks,
Ryan

Do the pork butt on the top, the brisket on the bottom, and save the chicken for a later, separate, high heat cook, if possible. In any case, most would advise never doing poultry physically above anything else.

Just to emphesize what Doug said. When I had the health inspector out looking the place over so I could open my restaraunt. I was told I was not allowed to cook chicken or fish along with any other meat.

There is nothing in the FDA code that I am aware of that disallows mixing of meats in a cooker as long as internal finish temps are realized. Of course, if your county disallows it you have no choice but to comply. But the position is not science-based. Any cooker, be it oven, combi, WSM, whatever, cooking at accepted cooking temps, will kill pathogenic bacteria. As much as I do not like the thought of chicken juices dripping on meat below, those juices are pasteurized virtually instantly when they emerge into the hot temps of the cooking device.

I have been party to just this sort of discussion with food microbiologists and safety experts, many of whom contract with FSIS, and can quote them directly if anyone is interested.

Thanks Kevin. The chicken paranoia is one of my pet peeves!
icon_razz.gif

Not trying to say there is NO danger with chicken, but come on folks, let's get real. Follow a few basic guidelines for food handling, and you'll be fine.

Now, about that "Chicken Fried Brisket" recipe.......

Big Grin,

JimT