Anyone ever regret the 22.5?

Adam Hostetler

I'm going to be getting a WSM.. the question is which? I'm not concerned about the difference in upfront cost, nor really the difference in fuel use unless it's HUGE. I'm more concerned if there are any other drawbacks? Is the bigger unit harder to maintain a temeperature if you only have a little bit of food in it for isntance? Anything else?
Has anyone bought the 22.5 and wished they had bought the smaller one? If so, why?

I bought a 22.5" straight out of the gate and I'm so glad I did! The smokers are built the same way so maintaining the temp is the same and with this type of smoker, it's easy!

Another reason I'm thrilled to have the bigger one is cooking space. I have seen several people that have bought the 18.5" and love it but wish they just spent the extra to get the bigger one for the extra cooking space. Some have them did some mods to add another cooking grate but if you're like me, I'm not good at that stuff so I'm glad to have the bigger one to begin with!

Lastly, welcome to the board Adam!

I have both and wouldn't trade with either! They both operate the same. The big boy uses a bit more fuel but will hold WAY MORE food!

I currently cook on a 22.5 Performer. Never had a problem with small cooks - just used less charcoal and snuffed the fire afterwards and reused the coals. I'm pulling the trigger on the 22.5 WSM tomorrow and can't wait! Will be using the same principles for fuel as with my performer. I'd much rather have the option of being able to do a large cook than not!
wsmsmile8gm.gif

Not owning a WSM yet though, but having a 22" OTP feels rather cramped at times even when cooking for two people, taking into account indirect cooking and lots of vegetables and side dishes.

Originally posted by anders:
Not owning a WSM yet though, but having a 22" OTP feels rather cramped at times even when cooking for two people, taking into account indirect cooking and lots of vegetables and side dishes.