WSM - low temperature - coals at front not lighting :(

ANewton

Hi all, I am new to the WSM world, but have been using a Weber Kettle for many years. I have an 18" WSM that I have bought pre-loved. The previous owner has fitted gasket around the door and between the centre section and lid.

I have a problem with getting the WSM up to a good temperature I am unable to get the temperature past 200f / 95c without either opening the door, or wedging the lid open a 1/2 inch.

• I use a good quality briquette in the minion method.
  • I centralise the coal ring on the bottom grate. And fill it with coals.
  • I dump 1/2 to 3/4 a chimney starter load of hot coals in the middle of the coals.
  • I fill the water pan with water 1/2 way. And I do ensure that the water pan is in the brackets, not touching the coals.
  • I have all of the bottom vents fully open, and the top vent fully open also.
  • There is nothing restricting the air flow into the WSM.
I am monitoring the temperature with an InkBird, and the temperature reading is kind of in line with the gauge in the lid of the WSM.

The strange thing I don’t understand is that the coals at the front of the smoker (around the aluminium door) never light. So it appears that all the heat is being generated from the coals at the middle towards the back (opposite the door).

I am confused as to why the coals at the front never light at all. I am thinking of buying a Cajun Bandit Stainless Steel door. As the thin door as standard appears to be the weak link in a very good smoker.

Has anyone ever come across this before? If so how was it resolved?

By the way, great website and fantastic community.

Last edited: