When You're Smokin' What are You Drinkin' and Listening to?

Ben Milano

TVWBB Member
I am a musician (singer); I also tended bar for many years while attending college and even a bit afterwards. Now I am REALLY into wine, even took and graduated from a wine program here in NYC.

Which brings me to my post

You're smokin' in your yard, hanging with the family or the guys - what are you drinkin' and listening to while you're cooking and when you sit down to eat your hard work?

I personally love red wine but find that a good red zin just hits the spot. I also LOVE Elvis but the other day I went Roadhouse all the way. I cranked up my Sirius radio and listened to some real Blues for about 4-5 hours. My family thought they were transported back to Memphis!

This week I attempt a pork butt! Wish me luck!

Drinking Miller High life (in a bottle), maybe a little Jim Beam and listening to southern rock. I am particular to the Allman Brothers Eat a Peach album. Still have it on vinyl and play it all the time.

Ahh, vinyl and the Allmans. ) I like you already. I met Greg and Dickie about 6 years ago after a gig in NYC - very cool guys; very high but very cool

Drinking my Henry's Hef and listening to Blues. Nuttin' betta den Blues and BBQ.

Sometimes oldies, Sam Cook, Everly Bros., Buddy Holly, etc. What can I say? I'm an oldies freak. Something naive and positive about the oldie songs - even the "my girl just left me" kind seem to be upbeat.

Blues and Bud Light, here in Tennessee.

Stevie Ray Vaughan, Clapton, BB King, Allman Bros., and if I'm in the right mood, Van Hagar.

Cooked for Greg once or twice--well, no, he came into the restaurant where I cheffed. But I remember swilling very cheap wine and playing 'Eat a Peach' over and over the day it was released with a bunch of other people.