Store bought rubs - worth it?

Mark Foreman

TVWBB All-Star
Looking to get educated here….

I have been making my own rubs for many, many years. I virtually have never bought dry rubs. I see lots of posts here for commercial rubs. Are they worth it? Too much salt? Too costly? After looking on-line, I have found more rubs available than I can count. How do I find good ones?

There are so many decent craft rubs available these days, in store and mail order, half the fun is trying all of them. I used to make my own then stopped about 10 years ago, it was too easy to get decent stuff without the hassle. Most of the local groceries stores carry a good selection and I’ll hit up the occasional flea market or spice festival and pick up some that look good.

Some are just fine but MANY are way too salty for my taste.
I try to get small ones to test then, if I like one, I’ll get a large one.
Lately, I’ve been blending some Weber “Kickin’ chicken“ with McKormick “Brown sugar Bourbon” for chicken and it’s been a pretty good hit for my family. Thighs and drumsticks with that for tonight’s family dinner.

I make a lot of my own rubs and seasonings. I've been making the same rub for my baby back cooks since 1999, it's a simple rub but brings a nice balance between the rub and the taste of the pork.
In the last few years, I've bought a lot of commercial rubs and seasonings. I try to find rubs that are salt free or low in sodium. I also blend some of my homemade stuff which is salt free or very low in salt with the commercial blends. Have to say I enjoy experimenting and have created some very interesting concoctions and some I'm sure should never be recreated again.

Rich, I have been meaning to ask you this. Is your rub recipe for the ribs a secret or have you shared it here and I missed it?