Start-Up Questions for 22.5 - 12 racks of BB

Daniel Backer

I’m a long-time 18” owner, but recently received a 22.5” from the wife and only have one cook under my belt on it which was a couple high-heat turkeys on Thanksgiving. For the Super Bowl, my wife wants me to do 12 racks of BB’s. My plan is to do 6 on the top rack and 6 on the bottom rack, on two rib racks, cooking at 250-275 and no foiling. I’ve never done a cook this big and I’m new to the 22.5”, so I’m not really sure what start-up method and how much charcoal to use. Concerned about the amount of mass that’s going in the cooker, so was thinking of using standard method and no water in the pan and then catch temps on the way up. Using Kingford briquettes. Would love to hear any thoughts. Thanks in advance!

This is a WSM right? Haha

I think you plan sounds pretty sound although I would swap out the racks - trade places - half way done. I'd also go empty with the water pan as you suggested although definitely have it in there - empty.

Another idea is to do just do six at a time. After a couple-three hours with the first rack, wrap them on foil and finish them in the kitchen oven while you do the second six on the WSM. Personally I don't like to keep my racks on more than two hours or so because the color gets too dark. They're so much prettier with a nice rosy reddish color.

MHO

Good luck

Thanks for the quick response! Yep, WSM, should’ve mentioned that!

I like the idea of finishing in the oven, but no way my wife will let me anywhere near the oven given we have 40 people coming and she’s cooking a bunch of other stuff.

In terms of amount of charcoal, I was thinking two starters of unlit with one starter of lit on top - do you think that’s too much? Haven’t really figured out how much is needed for the WSM 22.5 yet.

Thanks

Do you have time to source a hanger setup for the wsm22? A dozen hung vertically should fit on a 22.