Start Stock or Modded

DrewS

I'm a newbie to smoking and have decided on the WSM 18 based on a ton of reading (forums and bbq /smoking websites) and watching videos about the WSM. I am debating if I should learn and gain experience smoking using a stock WSM and then add the mods later on or start off with a modded WSM.

Mods I'm looking to get along with the WSM: DigiQ automatic temperature controller, gasket for front door & lid, cajun bandit stainless steel door, knobs, handle for center section, and caster wheels

From my experiences with my used 18" wsm I don't find the need for mods at all. I love how consistent mine holds temps in stock trim. My door is hardly sealed perfectly and its a champ at holding temps. One tip I will give u is line the water bowl with foil (2 layers) and skip the water my personal experience has shown me it has little benefit although others may have different experiences. Its a good smoker you will really like it. One of my favorites on this thing is applewood smoked chicken leg quarters. Good luck and enjoy.

I am with Jim in that I would encourage you to get to know the WSM as it's designed and sold. I will go so far as to say that you should cook with it for six months before you commit to any modifications. And I would use water in the pan for low & slow cooks of 225-275*F and an empty water pan for cooks above 275*F. Water is an insurance policy that helps you control temp, and despite protestations about cleanup, water is used by professionals in many pits to create a moist cooking environment that promotes a better smoke ring and augments any spritzing you do of the meat during cooking.