Some WSM Rookie Questions

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hello all, I'm rather new to the BBQ world and have done some research on new water smokers. What I have now works but is beginning to show its age (as it's a hand-me-down from a BBQ-Master friend). I was looking for an upgraded, well-built water smoker with hopefully better temperature control. Some friends pointed me toward the WSM, and this great site.
First question is how easy is it to tend the fire? My smoker seperates from the fire box, so you can poke and stoke the whole thing. It helped a bit when I really tanked (fire way too hot or too cold). Has anybody had a problem dealing with the fire thru such a small door?
Secondly, how is temperature control? Next to wear and tear, the lack of temp. control is my 2nd biggest reason for wanting to upgrade. It seems VERY well done with the WSM, with the multiple dampers and adjustable "chimney" and all.
Thirdly, not a real deal-breaker, but just curious. How do you move the thing when it's hot? I haven't seen any pics showing handles. Would I just let it cool off, scoop it up, and put it back in it's resting place?
Thanks a lot. I hope to do some cold weather BBQing soon up here, with new gear. I've been looking at a lot of watersmokers in the $100-$200 range (even ECBs...aaacht!) and I am definitely leaning toward the WSM.

Jerod,

I am also fairly new to BBQ with the WSM, only about two months. I use to own an ECB many moons ago. My main problem with Q'ing back then was temp control. But after lurking on this site for probably a month and reading everything I could about the WSM, I was convinced to give Q'ing another try. I am so glad I did.