Smokefire Troubleshooting Guide

Lew Newby

R.I.P. 1/26/2024
SmokeFire Troubleshooting Guide

I've tried to remember different problems that folks have posted here and on a FB Group but I'm sure I missed some. Some of you may want to add steps to troubleshooting a problem I've identified and I appreciate any input. We have a lot of people here with more SF experience than me but this is something that I felt could help some folks. I'm no expert so I could use help here. What I'm asking for is:
1. Ideas for additional problems I should address and
2. Any changes to what I've written.

I lost formatting when I pasted the file here so I apologize for the distraction it causes.
  • No Power to grill.
  • Make sure switch is turned on. Check that power cord is connected to grill. Check that cord is plugged into a live outlet. (This may require checking the circuit breaker.) If using an extension cord make sure it’s connected properly. Check fuse.

• Startup problems:
  • Take out your center heat deflector and the welded abatement and watch the burn pot during start up. If the glow plug doesn't glow that's a problem. Watch it long enough to make sure that it stays glowing until the pellets burst into flames. Listen to the fan. If it's idling you probably won’t get combustion. Fan cycling low to high is normal to produce combustion. Listen to the sound of pellets dropping so you know that sound when the lids closed. Your eyes and ears will help you know what's going on inside when it's closed up.

• Flameout.