Preparing your Charcoal and wood

Slap Yo Daddy BBQ Classes

Dennis Stilwell

TVWBB Member
When setting up the WSM.

1. Do you use the "minion method" or do you start with all the charcoal fully lit charcoal?
2. Do you use wood chunks or chips?
3. How much wood do you use for one cook?
4. During that one cook. How do you use the wood, just at first, at least half the cook or the entire time?
5. Do you pre burn your wood or just load it in unlit?

Dennis,

I'm relatively new to the WSM smoker but took one of Harry's class a couple of months ago before he became "famous" on TLC. Fantstic class! I've since received a smoker from my kids for Christmas and I've been having a lot of fun with it. Here is my response to your questions:
1. Yes, I use the minion method for starting the smoker.
2. Use wood chunks - no more than three pieces. one for light smoke flavor and 3 for heavy smoke flavor. It depends on what you like.
3. I fill the bottom or the smoker ring about half full. That is plenty to last 6-8 hours of smoking time. A full ring will last 12+_hours before recharging.
4. The wood chunks are partially buried in the briquettets. As they burn down they ignite the wook and it smokes the meat throughout the BBQ.
5. Using the minion method, I fill a Weber briquette lighter chimmney about half full and light a wad of paper under the briquettes. When they are flaming and covered with ash I add them on top of my unburned briquettes inside the smoker. Give them about 10 minutes to heat up the smoker and then add my meat.

I also use a remote thermometer to monitor my intermal meat temp and also monitor the smoker temp with the built in thermometer. I track both on a spreasheet and watch both temps until the intermal meat temp reaches the desired temp.

Remember, slower and lower is better!!!