New WSM 14.5 first cook help

JSpradlin

Hi all! This is my first time writing here. My wife just got me a WSM 14.5 and I am really excited to use it! My past experience grilling has been on my gas Weber Spirit, so I have been reading up on forums for where to start with smoking. I am sure this has been answered, but I couldn't find the thread. But to get started, is it worth it to do a burn off the first time? Or should I just wipe the grates a bit and go for it?

Also, I know that I should stick to more forgiving meats to start with while I learn to dial in the temperature. I live in upstate NY so I am not overly concerned with it running too hot. Any recommendations for the first attempt that are forgiving but don't require quite as much cook time as something like pork butt?

Thanks in advance! This has already been a great resource for me to learn from reading.

No need to season. Just cook.

Start with some shorter cooks -- like chicken or ribs.

I have a 14 WSM also and love it, I got mine used so I can not answer the burn in question. First piece of advice go to this sites home pages and read Chris's advice on everything!!! https://www.virtualweberbullet.com
But, the best advice I have to control temps is to use water in the water pan. There are many different thoughts about a heat shield on the forum but to start I recommend using water to help keep temps controlled. Once you get more comfortable with your cooker you can decide if you want to try something else. I also very much recommend using a minion method to start your charcoal. I have used about max 12 briquettes of KBB for a minion method. Let me know if you need more information about that or if you have a already been reading up on it.