Mating a red top 1000 with a 2002-3 Silver B

Tony O.

Hey guys, this is my first big post on the Weber bulletin boards and I've been cooking with Weber's for about 20 years now. I have a Weber 3000 1997 in storage and I drive for a living now so I don't have much time at home. On the road one day I saw a red top on the side of the road with a free sign and I had to pick it up. It was in rough shape but all the parts are there. Burners were disintegrating but the rest is just a little rusty, nothing too bad. So I put it on the side of the apartment building that I live in currently and just put the cover on it that it came with. Skip to about a year later when I drive up alongside the road again and there's a 2002/3 silver B. So there I go again scavenger... I had to have it. Silver was in a lot better shape than the redhead. Missing the side table, a broken locking wheel and rotted flavorizer bars. So i decided to take the best of both of them and put them together. Planning on adding the wood table and lift up tray to the silver and the Red Top lid. I'm leaving the silver cookbox but I'm adding the wood handle to the lid. I'm also considering removing the plastic end caps on the silver and making some out of wood to match the tables. This is just an idea for now but I do have both barbecues sitting there just waiting for me to do something to them I will post pictures as I progress through my idea.

Can't really help you with your project, but I did want to welcome you to the forum. Pictures are good, we love pictures :)

The silver and the 1000 are very different animals. The silver series has a smaller firebox to accommodate a single row of flavorizer bars (the 1000 is deeper and slightly larger both front to back and side to side). That being said the burners, manifolds, and I think lids are not interchangeable. Same goes for the grates. Best bet is to find parts to redo the 1000 as overall IMO it's the better grill