Genesis II E-335 question on high temps

MarcHershey

Hello. We purchased a Genesis II E-335 gas grill a few weeks ago at Costco. I'm having problems regulating the temperature...on preheat the grill is hitting 650-700. With all 3 burners on low (and the sear burner not turned on), the temp is running about 450. The only way I can get the grill down to 350-400 is to turn some burners off and/or open the lid. I called Weber customer service to see if they had any tips or suggestions & they told me that this isn't unusual because the Genesis grills run hotter and that I can try indirect grilling to get lower temp or switch the grill out for a Spirit which doesn't run as hot. I hung up feeling kinda skeptical about the response I was given. However, I am by no means a grill expert at all...does anyone have any experience/thoughts? Is this typical for this particular grill? Thank you!

All grills will run quite a bit hotter when brand new and "unseasoned". Once you've used it awhile and some carbon has built up which will soak up a lot of the reflected heat it will tend to run pretty hot.

Hello. We purchased a Genesis II E-335 gas grill a few weeks ago at Costco. I'm having problems regulating the temperature...on preheat the grill is hitting 650-700. With all 3 burners on low (and the sear burner not turned on), the temp is running about 450. The only way I can get the grill down to 350-400 is to turn some burners off and/or open the lid.

Hi Marc,

Your temps are similar to my 2016 E330 . With all burners (three plus sear) on preheat, the 2016 E330 will reach 450 to 500F in less than 10 mins and it will easily hit 600+ in 15 to 20 mins, and 450F with three burners on low sounds right.

Two outer burners on low runs about 375F. I cooked a veggie lasagna recently in this config.

Center burner on low runs at 275F ( no wind, temp in the 80s) I measured this last summer with a second ambient temp pit probe.