Genesis caster upgrade at less than half the price

Clint S

The casters on my Genesis 320 finally bit the dust, which was a blessing in disguise. I was never pleased with the original small plastic casters - they seemed better suited for light-duty indoor application such as an office chair on a smooth floor. Also, I wasn't thrilled with shelling out close to $100 for a set of OEM replacements. Instead I acquired four industrial 4" swivel casters and brake kits for around $42 from Zoro/Grainger. They perform much better than the OEMs. With the larger diameter wheels and added sturdiness, my grill now rolls like a dream over rough concrete surfaces. If your leg inserts are still good, which mine were, they will accept casters with standard 7/16" grip-ring stems. For anyone interested, I would be happy to provide more details. See pic
(as a newbie, I inadvertently posted to the wrong forum section ... apologies for the redundancy)Picture2.jpg

Yah, I am interested but not for a specific grill, just in general. DId you use the standard plastic inserts for the legs or did you have to use something else.
A link to those wheels and any other parts used would be very cool.
thanks.

Interested. But I do worry about any extra stress on the legs or frame. Maybe that is why they put such lousy wheels on. Got to be some reason they do. Again it could be for stability too. Can't have too many roll away grill events. Locking wheel...

A link to Grainger, or at least a part number would be greatly appreciated. They look nice and beefy.

Was install as simple as removing the existing wheel and popping in the new one?? Any inserts or anything needed on the legs?

Caster Part # P12S-R040D-SG1 link: Caster
Brake kits Part # P-WB12 040X125 link: Brake kits
(Zoro gives out a 15% discount for registering. Zoro is Grainger's online shop)