Genesis 1000...do ya really need 13 bars??

Steve Broadley

weber is a sneaky lot, so many look the same but they're not!!
thought I was buying a silver B which needs only five bars. it didn't have any but did have nice cast iron grates. surprise surprise! but for $25 all else is good and it will last another 15 and outlive me :ROFLMAO:
anybody ever run these with just one level of bars? seems like overkill with 13 imhgo (imhgeezero)
happy father's day grilling to all you dads! ribeye with the daughter today woohoo!

I have no experience with this and would be curious what the responses are. My gut instinct says that if 13 bars were that essential, Weber would have stuck with 13. Besides, if it works for what you need it to do, that's all you really need.

You can certainly grill with just one row, but I agree with DanHoo that two rows evens the heat. Should also reduce flare ups.

I believe the change over time to a single row was mostly a cost savings measure, but my 1st generation Summit - on which Weber splurged expensively in a number of ways - has only one row of bars. I think higher heat and faster warmup may have been part of that equation.

You will also notice Jon, the grates are closer to the bars as well. I think that was done because Weber also designed the Summit to double as a flat top (open grill).

The difference between a 1000 and a Silver B are subtle. The burners on the 1000 are spaced apart slightly more than on a Silver B and the burners are lower from the cooking grates.

As Jon said it was likely cost savings because the silver B cook box has less material and 8 bars were no longer included.

I haven't grilled on the 1000 as much as a Silver B so I can't really comment on the preheat time and all. For me the deeper cook box was a plus for rotisserie cooks.