Forum favorite brine?

Bruno

TVWBB Honor Circle
Do we have consensus on the best brine for a turkey?
Picked up a nice brining bucket at Costco this AM and want to give it a go.

thanks!!

I've received the most positive feedback on this one:

I've been using that for several years. It's excellent. This year, I'm adding some allspice berries and peppercorns. I also picked up some local-pressed cider, so I'm going with that. Can't wait for the turkey coma on Thursday.

Jeff

J. Barb and I are doing the 2nd one you have listed this year. We have done it it the past and it's very good, just FYI if you get an enhanced bird I would recommend that you use 1/2 cup of salt for the brine as a full cup with the enhanced bird gets a little to salty.

https://www.weber.com/US/en/recipes/poultry/brined-and-barbecued-turkey/weber-9139.html

J. Barb and I are doing the 2nd one you have listed this year. We have done it it the past and it's very good, just FYI if you get an enhanced bird I would recommend that you use 1/2 cup of salt for the brine as a full cup with the enhanced bird gets a little to salty.

https://www.weber.com/US/en/recipes/poultry/brined-and-barbecued-turkey/weber-9139.html
Thanks for the tip, Rich. We splurge and get a natural turkey from a local butcher, so no enhancing involved. I am changing the recipe a little. Instead of cooking it in a roasting pan with the neck, veggies and stock, I'm putting those things in a drip pan and cooking the bird on the rotisserie.

Thanks for the tip, Rich. We splurge and get a natural turkey from a local butcher, so no enhancing involved. I am changing the recipe a little. Instead of cooking it in a roasting pan with the neck, veggies and stock, I'm putting those things in a drip pan and cooking the bird on the rotisserie.
That should work fine, wish we had a butcher here. I'll be doing ours on the Camp Chef for the first time.

I'm a sucker for every new turkey gimmick that comes along.