Danish Baby Backs?

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

What a beautiful Sunday...this week we've had 5 (five) inches of rain! Today, sunshine and a hi of 74!!!

And to top it off, Food Lion put Danish ribs on sale for 2.99 a pound! Can't wait to get started...and I'm about to...the race starts at 12:30....

anyway, I've never done the Danish style before.
Is there anything different I need to know?

Yikes!
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Newsletter 13 April 2003
Euro ribs blacklisted
One of the lesser-known secrets of the American fast food business is that the great American rib is actually the great Danish rib. Danish ribs are tenderer than their American equivalents but in the wake of the foot and mouth outbreaks the USA has banned imports... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Somebody knowledgable please chime in here. /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

From Barbecue'n on the Internet
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> The choicest spareribs weigh in at less than three pounds ? called "three and under" by those who get serious about such things. Larger ribs will be tougher and may require more magic to render them tender. Personally, I avoid the small imported "Danish" ribs because of lack of taste and texture. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks Doug, I remember the ban on Danish baby backs because of foot and mouth, but I think it has been lifted...if not, how can the Food Lion chain sell them? Food Lion has had it's problems in the past, but I don't think they can go so far as to sell banned meat!

Regardless, if I live, I will post the results.
They sure don't look as good as regular baby backs, but I'm interested because they always seem to have the connotation of the best...me thinks the tender aspect may lend to restaurant cooking methods (boiling) that can come out tender and expensive!

Thought I'd give it a go...