2 Briskets at the Same Time!-Weber Summit Kamado

AlanB

TVWBB Member
I have been asked to cook 6 briskets for the Family Reunion coming up in late October. Last year I did the same and I guess it was a hit since I've been asked again. Last year I cooked the briskets on my WSK one at a time over the course of a few months before the reunion. After each cook as soon as the brisket cooled down, I separated them between point and flat and then vacuum-sealed and froze them (without slicing). I did this because the site of the reunion is over 2 hours away. I then thawed them out and we re-heated them the morning of the reunion on-site using an offset smoker my brother borrowed from a friend. I thought they turned out at least 95% as good as they would fresh off the grill using this method. Why not just cook them on the offset smoker? Well, I know how to make a good brisket on my WSK and I have no experience whatsoever with an offset smoker.

I plan to do the same thing this year, with one major change: I am going to attempt to cook 2 briskets at a time on the WSK. Last Christmas I received a Big Joe Expander from the Ceramic Grill Store (https://ceramicgrillstore.com/products/big-joe-expander). This fits the WSK perfectly and gives an additional 20" X 18" grill surface on top of the regular grate; big enough to hold another brisket. Here is how it looks on my grill:IMG_20240918_164959.jpg