18.5 or 22.5 for a newbie

Brian Quintal

TVWBB Member
Newbie here decided to dip my feet into the smoking arena. I've read a lot of reviews and decided to go with the Weber, now I'm trying to decide which size. A majority of my cooking will be for 2 - 4 people with the occasion of 6 or 8 once a month. I love baby back and St Louis style ribs so that will be a frequent item on the menu. I want to make sure I get the right size to do at least 4 racks, as well as possibly a brisket, turkey, or ham. What are people opinions?

Having had 2 18.5" for years and having just recently (today...) purchased 2 22.5" I'd say go with the 22.5" if you have the space. As soon as I bought my first 18 I wished I had bought the 22.

For the number of people you will be cooking for an 18" will meet your needs. However, if the 22" is in your budget and you have the available space the 22" would be the way to go. If you go with the 22" you can make a smaller charcoal ring out of expanded metal for shorter cooks. There are tricks to getting full racks and packers on the 18" but it sure is nice to just plop them on the grill and let them cook. Also be careful thinking 6-8 people will be the max. It is amazing the people that come out of the woodwork when they smell good BBQ in the air.

For the number of people you will be cooking for an 18" will meet your needs. However, if the 22" is in your budget and you have the available space the 22" would be the way to go. If you go with the 22" you can make a smaller charcoal ring out of expanded metal for shorter cooks. There are tricks to getting full racks and packers on the 18" but it sure is nice to just plop them on the grill and let them cook. Also be careful thinking 6-8 people will be the max. It is amazing the people that come out of the woodwork when they smell good BBQ in the air.