Greetings from Palm Beach Cnty, FL previous of Boston

BJaye

I have been reading this forum for over two weeks and thanks to all of you for your contributions. :)

I am in my first year of retirement and moved to my native town last year. It was step 1 of the big retire. Then I traveled for months and am now settled for a while. Doing all the things I felt I never had time to do. I was always a weekend smoker and griller on a 5 burner propane gas grill that lasted me for a full 15 yrs., and a 8 yr old Masterbuilt smoker. Good enough. First purchase in my new home was a Traeger Pro Series 34 Wood Pellet Grill:rolleyes:. Wrong. I am finding it to be waaaay too much work.

So last week, I bought the Weber Kettle Performer :greenperformer: (the copper one). And so the journey begins. I bought it to be able to grill and barbecue with wood chunks. I really want to do Argentinian style grilling and plan on purchasing the Gabby Grilling accessory. I have bought all kinds of chunks. Need a recommendation on fire starter. The little white cube thingies crumble too much. Makes me nervous that it will fall in the wrong place.

I'll admit, I don't know what I am doing. But I have spent a lot of $$$ doing it. My first build was up and running and then died on me. So, I going back to basics. Been using lump charcoal. Tomorrow, I going all in with chunks and a few pieces of the lump in my starter thing. Accessories purchased: cast iron grate, cast iron grate which goes into the middle; vegetable/chicken thing; Vortex thing; thermometer. Style so far: charcoal baskets on side. Guidance: YouTube is my visual teacher.
Side note: It seems like everything that I have cooked so far is smoked. I hate the smell of smoked food. Spent days getting it out of my kitchen. Planned purchases: warming cooking rack, rotisserie attachment

I am determined to grill and bbq as my #1 cooking preference. I just need to figure out how to make this thing work for me. :george: