Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Frustrated

  1. #1
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    117

    Frustrated

    So I don't get it. I use my heatermeter. Unplug it put it away and fire it back up for the next cook and it just won't connect to the wifi. Its garbage now. I mean I have to take it apart to connect it to an HDMI port and try to figure out what is going on.

    I brought it inside the house to see if it had trouble connecting outside. No better. Anyway just complaining because I am frustrated and I didn't want to cook overnight without some electronic eyes on it...

    I've complained in the past that the IP address should be visible on the display. I don't think I am out of version too far but still it would be a nice feature...


    Neil

  2. #2
    TVWBB Guru Steve_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,088
    Now that I run with a Raspi Zero W, I have zero wireless issues. That onboard wifi is rock solid and Just Works™

  3. #3
    TVWBB Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    1,636
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilHeuer View Post
    So I don't get it. I use my heatermeter. Unplug it put it away and fire it back up for the next cook and it just won't connect to the wifi. Its garbage now. I mean I have to take it apart to connect it to an HDMI port and try to figure out what is going on.

    I brought it inside the house to see if it had trouble connecting outside. No better. Anyway just complaining because I am frustrated and I didn't want to cook overnight without some electronic eyes on it...

    I've complained in the past that the IP address should be visible on the display. I don't think I am out of version too far but still it would be a nice feature...


    Neil
    The IP address does get displayed on the LCD screen.

  4. #4
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,758
    I'd make sure you're on the latest snapshot firmware as a #1 thing to try, and you didn't give us any other information so there's not much else to suggest beyond that. It's frustrating I'm sure, but it shouldn't behave like that and if it did I don't think any of us would be using a HeaterMeter so there's a glimmer of hope that it it is an issue that can be resolved.
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  5. #5
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Mayland View Post
    I'd make sure you're on the latest snapshot firmware as a #1 thing to try, and you didn't give us any other information so there's not much else to suggest beyond that. It's frustrating I'm sure, but it shouldn't behave like that and if it did I don't think any of us would be using a HeaterMeter so there's a glimmer of hope that it it is an issue that can be resolved.
    Yeah I didn't think it could be so unreliable for everyone - I don't know. Maybe my USB dongle thingie bit the dust. I don't know

    Im running 4.2 hardware with the thermocoupler.

    I wasn't sure what else to include in my argument. I thought I have seen the IP address on the display but I don't - ever. I have seen it go by but there isn't a menu option to show it. I did ipscans to see if we had picked up a DHCP address for some reason. The device - stand alone works. Just no network access.

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    117
    Is the last release from 2017? I definitely have that on there. I will connect it to an HDMI display tomorrow and see whats going on....

  7. #7
    TVWBB Diamond Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    3,662
    Run the latest SNAPSHOT release, date May 20 2019 14:47:19 PDT as of right now. Try the Automatic WiFi Client mode build, if that fails to connect try the Access Point build, you should be able to see the HM access point with a smartphone and connect directly, that will give you some idea if the HM software and wifi device is working.
    What rPi version are you running?
    Last edited by RalphTrimble; 09-08-2019 at 10:34 PM.
    I created the Roto Damper, RD3, HMv4.2 sliding back case, "air-burner" and the "ping-pong" valve in my quest for delicious "set and forget" BBQ.

  8. #8
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by RalphTrimble View Post
    Run the latest SNAPSHOT release, date May 20 2019 14:47:19 PDT as of right now. Try the Automatic WiFi Client mode build, if that fails to connect try the Access Point build, you should be able to see the HM access point with a smartphone and connect directly, that will give you some idea if the HM software and wifi device is working.
    What rPi version are you running?
    So I opened the case and plugged it in to a display and I get absolutely nothing. The heater meter show no pit probe on its LCD screen. I don't have any display output from the HDMI port. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    Neil

  9. #9
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,758
    If you're running the 2017 release then upgrade to the snapshot. The v14 release is known to have bad client mode wifi with rtl8192cu dongles (edimax, etc).

    As far as the HDMI, make sure you're plugged into the monitor before you power up. Apart from that, watch the Pi's LEDs for its boot status. Random flickers as it reads the kernel, fast regular flashing, then slow regular flashing, and finally a solid status (either on or off) once fully booted. The monitor should come on somewhere between the random flickers and fast regular.

    But all of that's not necessary because you probably just need to upgrade your firmware to resolve this.
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  10. #10
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Mayland View Post
    If you're running the 2017 release then upgrade to the snapshot. The v14 release is known to have bad client mode wifi with rtl8192cu dongles (edimax, etc).

    As far as the HDMI, make sure you're plugged into the monitor before you power up. Apart from that, watch the Pi's LEDs for its boot status. Random flickers as it reads the kernel, fast regular flashing, then slow regular flashing, and finally a solid status (either on or off) once fully booted. The monitor should come on somewhere between the random flickers and fast regular.

    But all of that's not necessary because you probably just need to upgrade your firmware to resolve this.
    I tried reflashing and had issues but finally got it flashed. Booted and got the rainbow screen and nothing beyond just locked up at it.

    I found another card and flashed again - and then same problem.

    Tried with the heatermeter sleeve on and off no difference.

    Not sure whats going

    Neil

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •