A question of great pork?

russ olin

TVWBB Platinum Member
Hey everyone!
Hope that you are all have had a great summer. And staying cool in this heat.
Always watchin the site, not saying much, learning as I get older. That way I stay out of trouble.
I wanted to ask? What is the best pork breed out there?
We have had Compac Duroc pork. It was good but lacked that pork flavor that I was looking for.
Recently have had some great ribs from our local meat market. They were Berkshire.
Had that flavor that I was looking for.
So what do you think everyone? We like Berkshire here at my house over Compac Duroc pork.
Its been a very hot summer here. 90* here today, 50-55 at night. 73 in the house. No AC
love me some Colorado.
Thanks,
Russ

Last edited:
Hey Russ..... I'm by no means an expert on pork, not even close, but I saw you pop up and wanted to say Hi. Always enjoy your posts. My only real venture outside of the local stuff around here at Costco, Safeway etc. is Heritage Pork. I picked up a few from Marin Farms when I was in the bay area. They were bone in rib chops (my favorite cut) and had the best flavor I've experience in pork. Very moist as well. Hope things are well for you out there!

I'm also interested in what pork people like. I have had nothing but bad luck with pork. Did some Shoulder steaks a few nights ago and they came out great, first success in a long time.
90* would be nice here, we are in or 19th day of over 100* in a row. Gets down to a low 80s at night. Just hate it! At least we have A/C.
Good to hear from you Russ, sounds like things are going okay for you guys.

Hey guys,
Glad somebody posted. Is always great to hear from you guys.
I'm not a pork expert either but a while back we ordered 8 Compac Duroc Pork spares on the advice of a guy on another site.
The ribs were a little larger, the meat was a reddish beautiful pork color. Yet the ribs I would give a B+. They seemed to lack that extra punch.