Is $100 for a Genesis Silver "C" a good deal for a re-furbish?

Chris Bond

Hi, all.

I am just getting started looking at Weber grills and have decided I would like to re-furbish an older one instead of buying new. Can anyone give me some guidance on this post: https://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/app/d/pittsburgh-weber-grill/6899468870.html?

Is this a Silver C? Is $100 a good deal for it? I would probably plan to replace the burners, flavorizer bars, and grill grate at minimum; what should I look for when checking it out? Are there areas on the frame that are more prone to rust that I should watch out for?

Also, is it possible to replace the plastic side tables with wood (like some of the earlier models - I really like that look better)?

Any restoration posts for something similar to this that you would reccomend I look at?

Thanks for any thoughts in advance!

The ad is pretty slim on info.

I paid $100 for a 2001 Genesis Gold C. Costing me a about $200 in parts and supplies.

From the little I've seen, the bottom shelf rusts as well as where the fire box rests on the frame. The one I bought has no rust on the frame and no nicks on the porcelain.

Yes, that is a Silver C...I'd check the crossbar that houses the bolt that attaches to the firebox and the frame itself that the firebox touches. If there are no signs of rust then it should be a good rehab candidate. $100 is not bad but see if you can go lower...say $70 since the ad has been up for more than a week now and the seller might want to get rid of it at that point.

Yes I agree with Sam. Check for rust on the frame. If that is solid it it a good candidate. And try to haggle him down on the $100. This is a bit steep in my view.

Thanks all for the insight and guidance. I'll be checking it out tomorrow afternoon and will look at the areas on the frame mentioned here for rust.