Can we talk thermometers?

Gary Winters

I am rather new to grilling in general, but loving the journey. I have a Weber 22 kettle, and seized the opportunity to add a used Summit Platinum in pretty good condition to my collection.

At the moment, I have but one thermometer, a Lavatools Javelin, which works fine when poked into the food, but of course to use it I have to raise the lid which allows heat to quickly escape the firebox or kettle.

In watching all the YouTube videos about barbequeing, I'm seeing all sorts of probe thermometers, some of which seem to work with phone apps, and some which don't.

I'm looking for a thermometer solution that would work well with both the kettle and the gas grill (but not at the same time). Maybe something that has two or more probes. Also something that will allow me to measure temps on the grill itself (cooking temperature). That means one device for the grill temperature, and another for the food.

So - which brands/types of thermometers do you good folks use, and what do you like or not like about them?

I have used Mavericks for years, about 17 years ago I got my first one. I forget the model numbers, but I've had three of them.

Last summer I bought a Thermoworks Smoke on sale. Its pricier than the Mavs, but its far far better. Its just higher quality. It measures degrees in tenths and has a quicker response time. The probes are far better and I can tell by the construction they will last longer than the Mav probes. Its easier to use, the Mav units have to be turned on in sequence and the first one I had was ridiculous, I had to take the battery cover off the transmitter to turn it on and off.

Thermoworks has a new model, called Signal, that has four probes. Smoke has two. They go on sale periodically. Combine a Smoke or Signal with a Thermoworks Thermopen Instant read , and ya got all ya need.

Thermoworks has the Wifi option, but that's not something I've ever found useful. Some may, IDK.