Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Heater Meter Newbie Help

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Collierville, TN
    Posts
    13
    So use the TC to monitor pit temp?

  2. #12
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty "V" View Post
    So use the TC to monitor pit temp?
    Yes.
    To use a different control probe l i think the thermoouple has to be disabled. In which case it use the next probe. So.....thats effectively only thing you can use thermocouple for.

  3. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Collierville, TN
    Posts
    13
    Hmmmm. Just wondering if it is worth the added expense. Thinking about just inserting a probe in place of the dome thermometer to monitor the pit temp. According to HM, this is more accurate than attaching to the grate

  4. #14
    TVWBB Diamond Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    3,588
    You can do that with a standard probe, no problem. If all you do is low and slow this may work out fine. Water could be your remaining enemy, the maverick probes I have used (I killed LOTS) died primarily from heat or water, mostly water. Thermoworks probes seem to be more water resistant, though they can still be killed by moisture and are even more susceptible to heat. Thermocouples on the other hand are more rugged in general, and are available in countless varieties from very cheap to expensive.
    If you go without the TC and find you standard probes are not surviving long term you can get an aux thermocouple board to add a TC pit probe to your HM. You could add the SMD parts on the HM board after the fact I guess, but seems like that would be more difficult with all the other components there already.
    The other factor in this is the TC amp chip seems to be on long term backorder right now, so getting one from Bryan now would be making sure you get one at all. There are some little TC boards available for really cheap posted in a recent thread, might be a viable cheap option though I havent tried it myself.
    I created the Roto Damper, RD3, HMv4.2 sliding back case, "air-burner" and the "ping-pong" valve in my quest for delicious "set and forget" BBQ.

  5. #15
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty "V" View Post
    Hmmmm. Just wondering if it is worth the added expense. Thinking about just inserting a probe in place of the dome thermometer to monitor the pit temp. According to HM, this is more accurate than attaching to the grate
    I wouldnt agree with that statement.

    A lot of things affect what dome reads. Sometimes it reads higher than grate, sometimes lower. There is hot air currents moving inside, especially up walls, since there is a deflector that forces it to the wall. A lot depends on proximity to 10 lb hunk of 40 degree meat.

    What im interested in, is the environment the hunk of meat sees, and that means being reasonably close to it. But not too close. And don't accidentally touch it by shifting meat when put lid on. Going full blast....why cant my pit get over 200? Been there, figured it out quick
    Last edited by MartinB; 01-30-2019 at 01:49 PM.

  6. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Collierville, TN
    Posts
    13
    Ok. My intention is to use a Thermoworks probe thru the thermometer hole in the BGE dome. The probe is long enough that I can put it close to the meat or a little deeper into the cooking area without touching the meat itself. Wouldn't this give me a more accurate reading since it is more in the cook zone?

  7. #17
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty "V" View Post
    Ok. My intention is to use a Thermoworks probe thru the thermometer hole in the BGE dome. The probe is long enough that I can put it close to the meat or a little deeper into the cooking area without touching the meat itself. Wouldn't this give me a more accurate reading since it is more in the cook zone?
    Didnt realize you had bge, but i like to be about 2" from meat.

    Put your hand 2" above a 10 lb block of ice
    Put a fire under it
    Does your hand feel the fire or still cool?

    Thats the problem measuring temp in a cooker. It gets better as meat cooks and get hot, especially at low 225 temp. Fortunately, accuracy doesnt really matter.

    I would rather be close to meat on grate, than above it, as you may not see the temp bottom of meat is exposed to. Ive put 2 probes in and measured substantially higher temps an inch below grate than on it. Again, fortunately it really doesnt matter. For most part its just a question of time.
    Last edited by MartinB; 01-30-2019 at 06:41 PM.

  8. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Collierville, TN
    Posts
    13
    Good points. I think that I will play around with it and see what I get. One in the dome and one on the grate.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •