Seeking Input on S-470 Upgrades

Victor Clarke

Hello All,

Newbie here on the board (but long-time Weber user). Moving from a Genesis S-330 to a Summit S-470 arriving this week and looking for any input and/or advice ya'll may have on planned upgrades. Here's what I have in mind before firing it up:

1) Replace flavorer bars with rcplanebuyer's.
2) Replace smoker box with rcplanebuyer's kit (already have a dedicated pellet smoker).
3) Replace stock grates with two smaller 70373 grates (~8" used in 600-series) placed on left & right in order to center an opening over the Sear Station for a Weber 7585 GBS grate, 7404 Griddle or Grill Grates.
4) Treat exterior with Everbright ProtectaClear.

The thought process regarding grate replacement is it would be a slick setup for reverse searing (my preference) in that the center Sear Station burner could be used to provide indirect heat for the side grates while simultaneously pre-heating the searing grates (or griddle). Alternately, two of the three GBS Grate, Griddle or Grill Grates could be moved to the side positions with the smoker box replacement grate (~3-3/4") in the center, providing a myriad of cooking options, particularly when using GBS drop-in components.

Well, whatcha' think? Am I missing anything? Any and all comments will be appreciated!

Is this a new Summit? If so, seems like replacement of the flavorizer bars wouldn’t be necessary or get you any benefit. If it not new and they are worn out, then rcplanebuyer will take great care of you.