Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: power supply - 12v 6a ?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    20

    power supply - 12v 6a ?

    Hey all,

    The instructions for the power supply are that it should be a 12v 1a, or if its an unknown cheap brand off ebay etc, then a 12v 2a should be used, just in case.

    Looking around my house, I found this power supply from a previous project (see attached image).
    It is a 12v 6a and the plug is the correct size for the Heatermeter. I can't remember what I used it for previously, but there was no wreckage/smoke/fire.

    My question would be (and it is admittedly quite a noob one (myself and electronics don't have a lot of history together)):
    Am I about to make a firey bomb if i use the 12v 6a? or does it just draw the power it needs?

    Thanks for your time!
    Jeremy



  2. #2
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,550
    Yeah the current specification is a minimum, so more is fine. The configuration looks right 12V, tip positive, so it should work assuming that it puts out DC voltage. It doesn't say anywhere that it is 12VDC, which I think would be the most common but you never know. If you have a multimeter you can stick one probe in the barrel jack and one on the outside of the barrel and verify it is DC volts and not AC.
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  3. #3
    TVWBB Super Fan
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southeastern MN
    Posts
    313
    Uh, Bryan..... it does say DC. 12V, then the symbol with the long horizontal line with 3 horizontal lines under it, the symbol stands for DC. A sine wave symbol would indicate AC instead.

  4. #4
    TVWBB Hall of Fame Clint's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    6,857


    lol (engineers)

  5. #5
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,550
    Oh hahaha derp derp, I didn't even look at the symbols. Yeah that's DC alright! For those interested the Chinese says:
    Power adapter model
    Input
    Outputs (sic)
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    20
    oh beauty - thanks all!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •