It was close by and it looks like it was an awesome deal!

Jon Tofte

TVWBB 1-Star Olympian
Well, I promised that I was out of the market for ANYTHING unless it was (1) close by, and (2) a great deal. Fortunately, or unfortunately, a deal I have been working on for almost two months suddenly came together. This was listed on OfferUp for $100 under the title "BBQ":

5eekx2.jpg

TEC may not mean much to you; it didn't to me, but I was intrigued and did a little research. TEC makes REALLY TRUE infrared grills here in the US (Columbia South Carolina). They are noted for their 304 stainless construction and more importantly for their real infrared burner/glass combination that promises "steakhouse" performance with minimal flare-ups.

fdfvyr.jpg

Here is a link to a review by the BBQ Guys:

https://www.bbqguys.com/bbq-learning-center/expert-reviews/gas-grills/tec-patio-fr-gas-grill

As you can see, they really love these grills. There is, of course a price to pay. The model on OfferUp has been updated, but this one is pretty close:

https://www.bbqguys.com/tec/patio-f...ropane-gas-grill-on-black-pedestal-pfr1lppedb

Wow! $100 for a working $2,900 grill seemed too good to pass up;). The seller was not very communicative, but the ad lingered forever. From time to time I would message her again. Once and a while a short reply that it was available and when could I get it. When I said I was ready and asked for a time and address nothing would come back. Oh the world of online/in person buy and sell:confused:! Finally, we got it set up, and I decided I would take it only if it looked functional and not rusted out. I knew parts would be an expensive proposition, and the last thing I need is another major project.