Angles on Angle Grinders...

Jon Tofte

TVWBB 1-Star Olympian
Some of you guys know that in my regular life I am a CPA (and now working for a not-for-profit also a property manager, refurb manager, landscape designer, counselor, and who knows what else!:rolleyes:). Anyway, my experience with power tools has been pretty limited, at least until I joined this forum. Reading after some of you guys got me to visit Harbor Freight and to see that there are sure a lot better ways to restored grill fireboxes than sand paper and Easy-Off!:eek:

One of the first big helps was to see the value of an angle grinder and cup brush. I took note that a number of you use this heavily discounted "Drill Master" sometimes on sale for as little as $9.99 at HF:

2cxg9hg.jpg

I have noticed that the cheap price comes with some complaints. Mostly that it overheats. Of course, at this price you could buy 2 or 3 and swap them out. But that also could be a pain and mean having a place for duplicate tools. (My tiny shed doesn't allow for much of that, so I do see that as a downside.)

The day I shopped, they had a pretty compelling deal on the next model up. This is the "Chicago Electric Power Tools" version. (I guess there is a Chicago China I don't know about or they just shamelessly appropriated the Windy City name; definitely not from a factory in Chi-Town:rolleyes:) Anyway, it is a little higher amperage. Who knows, maybe a little better built. I can say that it does get hot, but has never gotten unusable. It has survived a number of firebox clean-outs and still is chugging along.

2pod160.jpg