Vents

JacobAJensen

I'm a new WSM owner and I'm still learning the ropes. In my reading about temperature control, I've come across two different (and contradictory) philosophies. The first that I hear most people talk about is to keep the top vent wide open and modulate temperature by changing the bottom vents. The other (advocated by Harry Soo) is to leave the bottom vents alone and modulate temperature with adjustments to the top vent. This is what Harry Soo says:

"Of the three components I mentioned: intake, fuel choice and amount, and the exhaust, the most effective component to maintain constant temperature is not the intake nor the fuel. It’s the exhaust. Many beginners I come across are not aware of that. All seasoned pitmasters know how to intuitively draft their pit using “clean” smoke to color and flavor their barbecue meats. The draft refers to the vacuum effect when you open or close the exhaust vent of your pit. When you open the exhaust vent on the WSM, you allow hot air to leave the pit and this creates a vacuum suction to draw air in from the bottom intakes. Thus, by skillfully manipulating the top vent, you can control your WSM like a pro. Many beginners constantly fiddle with their intake dampers in hopes to maintain a constant temperature with less success than leaving the bottom vents untouched and fiddling with the top vent to control the draft within their WSM."

Can anyone speak from experience which method you use and what is best?

Pass the popcorn!
I will be watching this one to be sure!
I’ve always thought it was better to adjust intake but, I’m willing to learn something different.
I see the mechanics that the esteemed Mr. Soo is talking about and am very interested in what the discussion will show from wider experiences.

Another way of looking at it ... On car engines with carbs, where is the air flow controlling valve (butterfly) located... in the intake or in the exhaust system ?

I think these are the key words by Harry: