RP 3b+ HeaterMeter boot woes

Paul Frere

TVWBB Member
I have just finished my HeaterMeter from Bryan's nicely prepared and priced kit. I am an experienced electronics tech, MSEE, sometimes programmer and had no serious problems with it. No parts left over. No parts short. :)

When I first tried to boot using the heatermeter software, I got the following with the RP red power light: long(~1.5 sec.) red, off, long red, then a repeating code sequence of four dashes, three dots, and a dash. My Google-Fu can find no references to RP flash codes anywhere.

Long story short, I have tried several power supplies, all providing a solid 5 volts measured using my USB volt-ohmmeter. I have tried booting with and without the heatermeter hardware connected. Always the same, only the red light and the same flash code.

So I downloaded the RP NOOBS software and programmed that to a micro-SD. NOOBS seems to boot correctly; I get a red, a green, then red and some flashes of green. The RP is blind, so I cannot get any info on what is happening, but from the lights it looks like it is happy.

I have also downloaded (from https://heatermeter.com/dl/), programmed and reprogrammed several different micro SDs with the heatermeter software. My main img has been heatermeter-bcm2709-stable_14-WaveLan.img which is programmed with my wifi information. I have created, downloaded, and tried it two or three times. One odd thing is that when I "verify" using Win32 Disk Imager, I often get an error at sector 8192. The presence or absence of this error doesn't change anything. This has occurred with three or four different micro-SDs created on two different Win10 computers. I have also tried the standard image lede-brcm2708-bcm2709-rpi-2-squashfs-sdcard.img No joy there, either. Same code.

Any ideas?

Did you try the latest snapshot build?
I dont think you mentioned the rPi version? Did you note that and choose the right download for the version rPi you are using?