Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Heater Meter won't save WiFi Settings

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4

    Heater Meter won't save WiFi Settings

    I am getting really frustrated. For some reason, my heatermeter lost the network settings. It used to always connect to my home network, and now it is back to being it's own network. I can connect to it and change it over to my home network, but it doesn't save the settings... ever.

    I have used this method:

    https://github.com/CapnBry/HeaterMet...r-4.x-Software

    I have tried this:

    https://tvwbb.com/showthread.php?386...LinkMeter-WiFi

    I can log into it from my wifi laptop, and switch it over, and click the "save and apply" and still it doesn't save it.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    TVWBB Platinum Member Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,476
    What version of the image do you have on your SD card? If it is an older version, then the settings won't save if there's no HeaterMeter attached due to a bug. You can also try downloading a pre-configured firmware image and flashing it from System -> Backup / Flash Firmware with that image file and uncheck the "Keep settings" box, which will reset any other setting that might be conflicting.
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4
    From This page:
    https://heatermeter.com/dl/
    I got the firmware version 14, and tried for the auto config file with my network info. Wrote the image using Win32DiskImager. Still didn't take.

    I am not sure what you mean by "no heatermeter attached" or flashing from system -> backup. can you please clarify?

  4. #4
    TVWBB Platinum Member Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,476
    If it is v14 then you don't have to worry about the HeaterMeter attached (I was referring to having the HeaterMeter board detached from the Pi though).

    If you're downloading the preconfigured firmware, then the wifi information should be baked in and there's no way I can imagine that it won't save so I'm at a loss. You could try doing a "Reset Configuration" from the HeaterMeter device LCD/Buttons menu itself which will revert it all back to stock (AP mode). Once it is up and booted, power down and flash your pre-configured image again with Win32DiskImager to see if it works. I can't imagine that would be any different that what you've done though.
    I'm that HeaterMeter guy what ruins everybody's free time.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4
    Anyone else have any ideas?

  6. #6
    TVWBB Wizard Steve_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,965
    Try with a different SD card.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_M View Post
    Try with a different SD card.
    I will let you know how that update goes. I currently only have the ones in the cell phone, but I can't use it, so I will go amazoning today.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •