cooking direct over coals

MarkMar

I have read a lot of other barrel smokers claiming that letting the meat drippings fall onto the coals produces a more authentic bbq flavor. Has anyone or can you leave the water pan out of a WSM and cook directly over the coals? In other words, having nothing in the middle of the barrel and letting the drippings fall on the coals?

thanks

I have WSM's and I also have a Pit Barrel Cooker, whose concept is as you describe. I agree it definitely results in a different flavor profile but I am not experienced enough that I can refer to it as more authentic. I like the flavor that results from drippings on the coals sometimes but I don't want it every time. I have not yet used the WSM without the [dry] water pan in place but I have seen posts by others whom use a rack hanger in theirs and remove the water pan and I have read at least some of them remark that it does deliver the drippings-over-coals taste.

And if I recall correctly there are at least a few recipes here that call for removing the water pan: http://www.virtualweberbullet.com/cook.html

Last edited:
I have done it before when cooking tri-tip on the WSM. We have 4 barrel cookers at the ranch for large events. A few times I have used the 22 WSM when there was not enough capacity on the barrels and set it up to mimic that set up (no water pan). From what I recall it was higher heat and it was much harder to control temperature swings. The meat is closer to the fire on the WSM as opposed to the barrel. Which I think was a better result. Tri tips cooked a little faster but yield a nicer outside color and crust from the dry rub.

Fortunately tri tip is very forgiving and is a roast that can be cooked with low or high heat. I could see where hanging chickens could benefit from the water pan absent.

What were you thinking of cooking without the water pan?