I'm attempting beef ribs for the first time

Lynn Dollar

TVWBB Emerald Member
Been at this a while, but never smoked beef ribs. I never gave them much thought till seeing what Aaron Franklin does with them, and what he does looks darn good. I might copy his method, if possible.

I went to a local butcher today and bought his " short ribs " which he said were from the plate, not back ribs. He had cut them into single ribs or I could've bought them connected , with four ribs.

I bought four single ribs, since I'm new at this and not even sure how many should make a meal. This will be only for my wife and I, should I smoke all four ribs or just two ? I think just doing two gives me a chance to learn before I waste four ribs :)

I have no game plan for how to smoke them, or even whether to use my Kettle, the 22 WSM or the 18 WSM. I'm leaning to the 18 WSM, as I've never done a cook longer than 2 hours on the Kettle.

I'm open to any and all advise and suggestions. Other than what I see Franklin doing, I'm also thinking about Meatchurch's Holy Cow for a rub.

Short ribs are a loosely used term. Do they look like this
DSC_3055Asian-Style-Flanken-Short-Ribs.jpg

If so, they are called flanken ribs.

Look like this
01APPE5-articleLarge.jpg

what I (and most others) call short ribs.

Our flanken ribs were on sale so that's what I got. Made this Chinese Short Rib recipe which was really good (did them in a slow cooker) using flanken ribs (this recipe uses short ribs)
https://damndelicious.net/2016/03/23/slow-cooker-asian-short-ribs/

No, they look like giant St Louis cut spare ribs. About 8" long.

I hope , after smoked and they pull down on the bone, they look like this

spring-creek-beef-rib.jpg

I've done four-rib racks a few times. Low and slow. Simple salt and pepper rub. I do NOT recommend the approach of dumping a ton of pepper on them. I thought that was absolutely awful. Just use what you think would be a normal amount of pepper on your food.