Today I came across this Summit Platinum D6 on OfferUp:

https://offerup.com/item/detail/414428515/?ref=Search

fazz7p.jpg

oephd.jpg

2hchle9.jpg

The description says it all:

$100

Description
High quality grill (stainless steel) shell. Needs all interior parts, new burners, pans etc. Can be purchased for approx. $250 online and grill would be brand new. No trades.

I would venture to say that you would have to invest a lot more than $250 to replace everything he mentions, and then there is the same issue I mentioned in my recent thread regarding the firebox and rust-through. On the other hand, I have always had a soft spot for these grills which seem more practical and less overdone than the current version.

What do you all think of this one?

Last edited:
I'm no Summit expert, but if the firebox on the older ones is aluminum it could be tempting.

I'm no Summit expert, but if the firebox on the older ones is aluminum it could be tempting.

My understanding is that it is not all aluminum but rather partially steel, including where the burner tubes go in.

One thing that I do really like is that the back piece seems to be stainless steel and must be decent stainless to look that good despite South Florida salt air. This is the way all closed-in cabinets need to be made. Not sure about the side pieces on this one, though. From the picture and description, except maybe the grates, most of the inside appears to be a lost cause. Replacement can get a little costly, but the firebox is the bigger issue. It looks like this one has the rear infrared burner. I wonder if it works. No mention of a rotisserie which would be another benefit this size grill could bring. If you buy that, too, the price is really starting to get up there making a $100 bargain perhaps not as cheap as it seems.