Brand New to the Smokin’ World

Garrett Layton

Howdy everyone! Extreme newbie here. I have wanted to get into smoking delicious meats for a loooong time now, but a premie son of mine delayed that a bit. However... a couple days ago, after a TON of research on what to get that would work best for me and my family, I bought myself a WSM 18.5 inch!! Excited is an understatement!! I did season it a little he day after I got it. Rubbed it down with some oil then did a burn out. Put in some (not a lot) lump charcoal and left the vents wide open just to burn out the junk in there. I do have a couple of newb questions though as I prep for my first cook here in a couple days....
1. This probably happens a lot, but I went to buy a pork butt today to really break this puppy in and they came in a pack of two. Let’s be real... I don’t NEED to cook 16lbs of Pork Butt. My question is, once I open the package, how should I freeze the other butt to save it for a couple weeks?
2. When I start closing down the vents when I get to temp, if I find that it’s not holding the temps and it keeps rising, so I shut the vents down that are getting hit the most by the wind?
Thanks everyone and I have already spent way too many hours on this site getting helpful hints and tips! So I greatly appreciate it and let the good times (and smoke) role!

I would cook both and freeze the finished product. That should save about $5 in charcoal. Mostly it's just me and my wife so I split it up in sandwich bags and put those in either a gallon zip lock or vacuum seal. Thawing a 8# piece of pork can be a guessing game. Even after a week in the refrigerator it can still be frozen in the center.

Like Dan says re: cook both and then freeze one.