What sort of icon represents a damper?

Bryan Mayland

TVWBB Hall of Fame
I've been messing around with some UI ideas and while we can all agree what a blower or fan icon looks like, I keep struggling with what sort of icon would represent the damper's position. The biggest problem is that I am not an artist, but the other problem is that the icon needs to be easily identifiable down to 32x32 pixels and monochrome. So what are some things that could represent an amount of choked-off air such as a damper?

I've mostly been using a open door silhouette as a placeholder, but a rectangle outline with another rectangle in it isn't great at conveying the idea of a damper. I've also looked a using a windy icon which feels more like a combination of blower+damper idea. A open door + wind might be ok but there's not enough resolution for that.

Maybe some sort of jail bars sort of grill? What other concept can be used to indicate damper percentage? Bonus points if you find a royalty-free vector image or PNG in the right size.

How about a pie(circle) having 6 slices. The slices don't really need to represent a percentage that accurate. So one slice out of the pie and the dampers is open and below 20%. 2 slices and that can be 20 to 35% or so and 3 slices is 50% and so on.

Is it a static icon or one that will change based on the PID output? Where in the UI will it be seen?