Wings, grill or wsm?

DavidD

TVWBB Super Fan
Oddly, despite all the butts I have smoked and a few briskets and countless steaks, I have never prepared wings on the grill or smoker. I wish to do that Sunday and need some tips. Came back to my favorite site but didn't see much on the subject in the cooking recipe area. There was one called buffalo wings involving 2 hrs on the smoker and then frying. I don't want to fry, so can u tell me if it is better to grill indirect heat with lid temps In The 400 range or low and slow on the wsm?

Again, I have lots of grilling experience but zero w wings so any tips or recipes would be appreciated, incl temps and times. Also interested to know which method is best. Thx

I've done wings on both the kettle and a WSM and I much prefer the WSM for a couple of reasons. Two cooking grates and the wings are further from the fire. I cook them between 350-375° for about 40 minutes. As for recipe I cheat and get them at SAMs club. Willow Booke makes them. Preseasoned with just the right amount of spice. Not like those Tyson ones that are pre sauced and full of sugar.

If you have a Vortex that is the best way to cook them on a kettle. If not I would do high heat indirect on the kettle.

That's just me though. I've only cooked them on the kettle.

Dave I agree with Pat, on the kettle indirect with high heat. I also add wood, the ones in the photos were smoked with orange wood, since you are close to me it should be available. I believe they only took about 40 minutes and have a good crispy skin. then toss with your favorite sauce.

Thanks
Dave

I'm a "Wings on the WSM" kind of guy

58F9F863-CA96-484D-9810-32175C83FD03_zpsomrsrdby.jpg

398E2F70-E5A9-4377-9985-BD6A53F9FB11_zpspecquq74.jpg

David, i see you are in FL, east side, so if the wings are for the football game tonight, well, i'm sure you are done by now. sorry i missed you!