New user who made mistake when assembling his first HM :p

DominicCyr

Hi!
Sorry if some sentences are not grammatically correct but english is not my first language.
So... my name is Dominic and I live in Port-Cartier, a small town on the north shore of the St-Lawrence river in Quebec, canada
It's my first attemptto build the HM and i've made a mistake when assembling it. And there are few issues that we probably can figure it out, with your help.
It's a 4.3 with a RPi 2B + thermocouple

First issue is that the LCD dimmer is VERY sensitive... I see black or nothing within 1°.
Second, the first probe indicate +-400°F without K probe in it

And my mistake was to plug the LCD board upside down in the base board (the two 5 pins connector).
I've fried something and I hope we can figure it out what is burned with some test.
Since, the red led flash once when powering up and the LCD show black block on the top line

For this summer, the next steps are to find someone local (or in canada) to print me something to build a rotodamper for a little smokehouse and the SSR for the sous-vide

The pictures were after my mistake

20170125_223926_zpswmxtqar1.jpg

20170125_224000_zpsoe9mqrh6.jpg

20170125_223943_zpskl9ucxsm.jpg

20170125_223750_zps9gqpmdpf.jpg

20170125_223914_zpsi8h6lohs.jpg

Sorry, I'm really not good at tracking things like these down. There are a few people here that are really good at doing that though. Let's hope they chime in with some helpful information, I'm sure they just got wrapped up with something else in the time being.

I'd like to help but I've never built a v4.3. It would seem the most logical things that would fry if you plugged the LCD board in backward would be the shift register IC or the LCD board itself... but lets not jump to conclusions on that, perhaps it did no harm at all.