First smoke in a 22" WSM... newbie cleanup question

BeckyS

Hi everyone,

I am new to smoking and new to the Weber Smokey Mountain. I have read so much on the process, but one area I wanted to check in with everyone else is what you do when you're done with the meat? I have a ton of questions...

How do I safely clean up and deal with the charcoal?
How do I not burn the house down?
I pretty much gather that you close all vents to stifle the fire, but then what?
How long do I let the charcoal sit there before it's safe to work with?
I have the Steve Raichlen galvanized trash can... Do I just move it to the trash can with tongs?
How do I clean the WSM when I'm done so that it's prepped and ready for next time? Do I use soap and water? Do I scrub everything? Just hose it down?
Can I reuse the charcoal? If yes, what do I do to prep it now for next use? And where do I store it (in the trash can? In the WSM?)
Either way - how long until I can assume I can move it into the shed without danger of burning the house down?
If I throw out the charcoal, what is the best method to do so?

Basically, I'm wondering what everyone does (step-by-step) with timing once they're done with their smoke. I looked through pages of posts in the newbie section, but didn't see anything about this.

Thank you so much everyone!

Hi Becky and welcome!

I also have a 22" and this is how I clean up mine. This info is based on me cooking a pork shoulder with water in the water pan (not aluminum foiled)

After your smoker is done cooking shut down all your vents until you see the temp gauge completely at zero. Touch it to see if it's completely cool. At that point I wait another day or so until I know that all of the charcoal is completely extinguished. The next day I dump the ashes in a heavy duty garbage bag and throw the remaining water and grease in the water pan on top. I then take the water pan and wash it in my utility sink with very hot soapy water.